From Dogsuits toDonuts

Woke up to a bit of snow flurries…I am loving it…It is January…snow is supposed to happen

 

Missed out on a nice piece of furniture sitting on a curb…Received a call last night informing me of the piece on the curb…It was late…It figured I would get it in the morning…I got there a little after 7…the piece was gone…moral…YOU SNOOZE YOU LOSE

Did a little agility with Sammy this morning…first time he did 6 obstacles in a row…he is smarter than I give him credit . I put a light jacket on him before we went out . Some veterinarians say dogs don’t need coats…others say…not so…If you have a small dog…short haired dog…a terrier…dog with very little body fat…have joint or health issues

Your dog will benefit by wearing a sweater or jacket

 

So I had Sammy wearing his fleece jacket from Voyagers K9 Apparel…they make breed specific clothing…so Sammy being  rat terrier…really does require a special fit . This fleece by Voyagers is so so soft…and easy on …easy off…I also use it with a neck gaiter…Voyagers calls it a hoodie…but on rainy days I can pull it up over his ears and covers his neck…and he stays dry…I really like this company…nice quality

tmp_11515-ds6-2132916097

 

Sometimes if we are going for a longer walk…35 degrees and breezy I like to put his Ruff wear jacket on him…it is water repellant as well…it does cover much of him but not his hind legs and it is fleece lined…I got mine at REI…my favorite store

tmp_11515-ds162207789

And on really cold days…I put on his onesy…it is fleece lined…covers front and rear legs…zippers underneath…and there is an opening for elimination purposes

It comes from k9 topcoats.com….I have used them for years…top quality…actually all garments I mention are top quality…I did not use a hair remover  lint remover when I photographed…rat terriers shed…a lot

 

tmp_11515-ds31737005041tmp_11515-ds2-293842406

 

And now for some donuts

tmp_11515-ds81157230291

 

 

I make baked donuts…in little donut pans…if you choose to make them…use a piping bag to fill the pans

My favorite recipe comes from King Arthur Flour…check out their Web page…If you like to bake…they are a great help…great recipes…great products…and you can even give them a call and they are so glad to help and see you succeed…donuts 3 ways…is their recipe I use…the coconut chocolate ones and the cinnamon sugar coated ones are from the same recipe…After baking them…I dip them in a little melted butter and then roll in cinnamon sugar…these just melt in my mouth…and these have the texture of a real fried donut…If you make these and they don’t have the right texture…it is all your fault…I make these a lot and they always come out perfectly.

 

I don’t know why I use other recipes…I made these chocolate donuts that I found on pinterest…but the consistancy is not right…and it was lacking of taste…luckily I read reviews…I added some baking powder ..some salt…and  espresso powder…plus I made my own glaze…which simply is 1T karo…and  double shot of freshly brewed espresso and enough powder sugar to make a glaze to the consistancy of your liking

 

Also made from Sally’s Baking Addiction her maple donuts…which is a slightly spiced donut topped with a maple and butter glaze…the glaze is very sweet and buttery and yummy…make sure you use a dark maple syrup…the flavor will be better and cut down on the sweetness…That is at least how I feel about it


tmp_11515-ds9619342554

Have a great weekend everyone

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

